View Single Post
Old 01-04-2013, 08:24 PM   #20 (permalink)
Grendel
MCB Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magoo View Post
Hello, folks.

I am a machinist by trade with 3 certifications (Machinist I, CNC I, CNC II) and 2 years work experience (plus classroom time). I also have an interest in military service, and would like to do something with my life while I am young. I have long been thinking about combining these two interests, and was wondering if anyone has any knowledge of the subject.

Basically, what would I have to do to be employed as a machinist in the Navy? I have no problem enlisting, but is there a way to ensure I get the gig as a machinist? Meet and exceed educational requirements, perhaps.

Ideally, I'd like to work on a ship, say a carrier, and travel around the world while machining. I know that is naively romantic, and serving in the military isn't about niceties, but it would be nice. That said, I would have no problem working in a shop.

I appreciate any insight.
The rating that you are looking for is Machinist Mate [MM]. Then what exactly you do with that rating and jobs your routinely do would depend on your background, aptitude and what "C" schools you get.

Machinist Mate Wiki

While I was not an MM in the Navy I worked very closely with "A Gangers" and Nuke MMs as I was an Nuke Reactor Operator [ET] on submarines. Not all Machinist Mates are machinists. Machinist Mates might be one of the broadest ratings in the Navy. If there is a machine in the Navy there is a Machinist Mate who operates, maintains, repairs and fabricates it [or for it]. From personal experience MMs on submarines tend to be more jack of all trades but many times do not get to be as specialized as some in other parts of the Navy.