View Single Post
Old 07-03-2013, 02:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Typhon
Rec Poster

DIY Mag fed marker - TX1 (Warning: picture intensive)

Hey all, first post here so I thought I would try and make it a good one..

This is my first attempt at a mag fed marker, for simplicity sake I decided to use an existing platform and adapt it to suit. In retrospect I actually increased the complexity of the project by going this route, but live and learn.

Project TX1 was started September 2012.

Main goals of this project are as follows:
  • AR platform, compatible with most standard AR furniture (MAGPUL YAY)
  • Electro - but must not appear to be. Needs eyes, doesn't need blinking lights
  • Better mag fitment than available mag fed markers (sorry milsig/Rap4, I don't like wobbly mag wells)
  • Very few visible fasteners (MUCH harder than it sounds)

I chose the BT TM7/TM15 internals. I liked the simple engine design, low pressure operation, AC threaded body, and small electronics footprint.

Machining day 1, September 23rd, 2012: Lower receiver begins

Turned a blank on the manual lathe and loaded it into the 4 Axis vertical milling machine. Bonus points if someone out there recognizes the brand of machine...

Note: The machine had a bad Y-axis ball screw at the time, which caused some unwanted vibration

Then I bought a house... and didn't work on it again until late November / early December.

Below you can see the general layout of the marker, the BT TM portion is rotated upside down, and the solenoid protrudes from the bottom of the upper receiver into the lower receiver. The circuit board is at the top of the TM body. The original plan was to use a 13cui tank, but due to time constraints that plan was later dropped in favor of a remote line.

Now at this point the lower receiver is still only 80% finished..this is important later. I get bored easily so I move on to the upper receiver. Date on these photos ranges from December 8 - 18th, 2012.