mcarterbrown.com  

Ask The Experts You ask the tough questions

Old 01-31-2013, 09:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ambassador of the sport

Help with fabric dye for Molle

I'm putting together several molle rigs for different formats of play.
I've amassed a pretty good collection of pouches, belts, etc. These are seriously mismatched in color however, since I got most of the stuff used from various army/navy stores and whatnot.
Anyways, I want the stuff to match because I feel the need to present a clean appearance and I'm going to try to dye a lot of this stuff black (I've got multicam stuff which will stay how it is, but I think black for the rest of it will be the best to match various team jerseys and what not).

All that explanation leads to the issue.
I have no experience with fabric dye. I'm dealing with a variety of fabrics (velcro, various grades of nylon, polyester, spandex, all the usual stuff for mid level tactical gear). I'm also dealing with various existing patterns (some woodland, some coyote, some ranger green, acu, etc.)

What is the best dye for this situation? RIT has been recommended to me- are there other good options? Any tips/tricks?
I'm looking to achieve a finish that is machine washable.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Jaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 10:25 PM   #2 (permalink)

Brass N Wood Fan
Palmers Fan
different materials will absorb dye differently, some may come out black others purplish or grey

honeslty multicam looks fine with coyote and ranger green, the acu and woodland i would suggest maybe spraypainting to either coyote or ranger green.

Last edited by socalpumpballer; 01-31-2013 at 10:29 PM.
socalpumpballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 10:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ambassador of the sport