mcarterbrown.com  

Ask The Experts You ask the tough questions

Old 06-13-2013, 08:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
MCB Member

Why brass?

I love my sheridans don't get me wrong. I don't love all sheridans, but I've got a soft spot in my heart for KP's, PMI 1's, and Palmer brass.

I recently started playing again after a 4 year absence or so, and I've only been playing stock class since my return. The only gun I've really used in the last 7 months or so has been my Palmer Super Stocker. The field I normally play at doesn't have a lot of regular pump players (let alone any stock class that I've seen). I'm constantly asked the usual "what is that, why do you use a pump, etc" but I was GENUINELY stumped on what to answer when someone asked me "Why did you have your gun made out of brass?"

Now I know that others and myself included enjoy the "heft" of them. But easily the same thing could be achieved by using more metal (milling less) to achieve the same "heft".

I've also heard that some think it's a superior metal to create a gun from because of the friction coefficients, but I don't know enough about to try and sell that idea to someone without any facts.

And of course there is the historical transition coming from pellet guns to the early paintball guns.

And again I love the Sheridans I own, they shoot amazing, point naturally, and are dependable workhorses, but those three facts listed above don't make for good oral persuasion.

So I ask the Mcarterbrown community, why do we continue to use brass in this day and age besides what I listed above?

WTB any color XL Hundredth Monkey Bounce Cap. Only looking for old school style.
Sincera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 08:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Post Whore

AKA Fan
because reasons

wts bko for cheap
jc_10 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 09:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
MCB Member

Brass has a warm and almost living quality, maturing as it ages and improving in form and function.