mcarterbrown.com  

Brass Eagle Brass Eagle owners can hang out here

Old 05-05-2014, 11:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
LeastGenericNicknameEver

ViewLoaders Orion Leak

I am trying to fix a couple guns for a friend as a part of a trade. I have been working on egos, tippmanns, mags, minis, old smart parts gear for years now, but I have no experience with brass eagle, viewloader, or spider. My friend claims the gun didn't start leaking until he changed the o-rings on the bolt. What size / material o-rings should I be using for the bolt? The so called "manual" calls out 2 different o-rings, but no size information.
Old 05-05-2014, 07:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Old 'n Slow

Where is the leak located?
Being a Spyder clone, the bolt should only leak ( blowback) when fired.
Target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 12:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
MCB Member

Send a message via AIM to Fubarius Send a message via Yahoo to Fubarius

AKA Fan
Brass N Wood Fan
Palmers Fan
Bolt o-rings are quite non-critical on an Orion. Usually tank o-rings do the job there. Heck, the later incarnations of the model, such as the VL High Voltage, have bolts that don't use any o-rings at all.

Hammer o-rings are a touch more picky, but if the gun is cycling fine don't worry about them.

Only place where the gun can leak is from the valve o-rings, cup seal, hose, and front valve chamber plug. Since the leak isn't external it's not the valve chamber plug or hose.

Check the o-rings on the outside of the valve body, inspect the cup seal for damage, and made sure the valve is in correctly. Basically treat it like an older Ego.

Nunquam emere quid potes facere
Fubarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 05:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
LeastGenericNicknameEver