-   Custom Projects / Custom Questions (
-   -   Building A Regulator (

Grimm 01-06-2010 02:17 AM

Building A Regulator
Here is one of the build logs I've been promising for a few months now. I ended up with a regulator that had a damaged body and needed repair. It turned out the damage was irreparable, and it kind of went from there. This project ended up being a bit more involved than I expected, and proved to be a valuable learning experience...

Before beginning, I drew up some plans to give me an idea of where I was heading, throughout the course of the project the plans became a little more detailed and specific until I eventually ended up with this...

I started off by turning the top section of the reg to rough dimensions, boring out the inside, and drilling the internal airway. I added an o-ring seat and tapped the hole.

On the top of the body (after cutting the male ASA threads with a single point tool) I drilled into the top of said male end, and ran into my first complication...

Rather than using an end mill as I had originally planned, i got lazy and just used a standard drill bit... then proceeded to overshoot my depth and punch into the internal air chamber :bang:

my solution to this was drilling the hole to size, threading it, and making up a plug to seal it

Grimm 01-06-2010 02:18 AM

After fixing my screw up, the next task was to teach myself how to cut internal thread, single point, in a blind hole... I was fairly happy with the end result. (I do consider them sub-par, but for a self taught first attempt; they came out decent)

finally, I had to drill the connecting airways and the inlet holes in the side of the body

with the exception of external milling and polishing to be determined at a later date, the reg upper portion was complete.

Grimm 01-06-2010 02:19 AM

After getting this far into the project, it seemed only logical that I finish it off with a new lower reg body.