mcarterbrown.com  

Custom Projects / Custom Questions How do I customize? What do I customize? What do I use? Share you experiences and faults here!

Old 07-16-2011, 02:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Eating Iranian Happy Cake

CCM Fan
Brass N Wood Fan
Palmers Fan
Twistlock 12 gram changer?

So, while on post, I had some time to think. I'm a radio tech, and military comm systems use alot of various bayonet (twistlock) connectors, BNC being the most common connector for RF cables.
BNC connector - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

What does this have to do with a 12 gram changer?

Well, what if you replaced the threads on a 12 gram changer with a twistlock? It would be faster than even a fast changer, requiring only a fraction of a turn, yet strong enough to hold a 12 gram in the changer. Some problems I thought of, though, would be:
  • Locking-There would have to be enough elasticity/springyness in the plug and plunger stack or at the face seal to allow the connector to lock, yet not enough to prevent the 12 gram from piercing properly. Is the face seal in, say, a Sheridan elastic enough? Would I have to incorporate a spring/rubber spacer in the plunger rod or another softer rubber washer on top of the face seal to allow this?
  • Bleeding-Another problem I could see would be if there wasn't a way to bleed pressure off before changing 12 grams, the plug/plunger and twelve gram could be propelled out of the changer like a rocket if your grip on the plug slipped. In the bayonet guide, a flat spot or secondary locking point could be incorporated before the slot to remove the plug, to allow pressure to be released, yet preventing the a fore mentioned parts from shooting out the changer. I could see this being the reason twistlock changers weren't/aren't made or at least not common (I've never seen or heard of one).