mcarterbrown.com  

Custom Projects / Custom Questions How do I customize? What do I customize? What do I use? Share you experiences and faults here!

Old 02-20-2013, 12:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Rec Poster

Yoda closed bolt Ion conversion electronics options

Hey guys, so I have a closed bolt converted Ion that I am currently running as a mech, but I am itching to tinker...

What I would like is a fully functional electro version... but with working eye logic.

This rules out using a stock board...
3 questions:

1) Are there existing boards which would work out of the box? Thinking about Eblade electronics here but I have no first hand experience with these

2) Are there boards which I could program myself? Scenario Dreams perhaps?

3) Regarding solenoids: Gun operates around 190psi, and I really don't want to have to add an LPR, so the solenoid needs to be able to handle 190psi. Essentially I just need a normally on solenoid with a single input and output. Any suggestions?

I also have the wherewithall to do a custom contoller using an arduino or even make my own board, if i need to.

BTW, the eye logic works as follows (and yes, this is simplistic, more functionality can always be added later)

STATE0: Solenoid inactive (pressure on): If <trigger> goto STATE1 else STATE0

STATE1: Solenoid active (pressure off): If <eye> goto STATE0 else STATE1

The operation will go like this:
1) Ball loaded, gun at rest in STATE0.
2) Trigger pull causes state transition to STATE1, activating the solenoid, firing the ball, and retracting the bolt.
3) STATE1 is maintained, and bolt is held back, until a ball in sensed by the eyes, causing a transition back to STATE0, which pushes the bolt forward, loading the ball into the barrel. The system then waits for another trigger input.