mcarterbrown.com  

The Dead Zone Paintball Related Chat

Old 03-28-2012, 11:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Certified Gunsmith

Kilt Fan
A Milsim Question.

I have been feeling the milsim itch a little more over the last few weeks, but it is creating quite an interesting dilemma.

I HATE the ergonomics of the M-4/M-16/AR-15. Can’t stand it. I don’t know exactly why, but it has always just rubbed me the wrong way.

Thus, I am studying to be a gunsmith and weapons historian with an "Eastern Block" specialty.

My question is: Why are there no faithful representations of Kalashnikov (AK's, Saigas, etc) or Simonov (SKS, PTRS, etc) family rifles for milsim players? There are a million-and-one interpretations of Stoner's brainchild, but not more than 2 or 3 paintball equivalents to the most popular assault weapons in the world?

Plus, let’s face it, we all love wood stocks here!

Any reasonable ideas as to why this has occurred?

Last edited by Iconic Muffinman; 03-28-2012 at 01:06 PM.
Iconic Muffinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 11:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mill Monkey

^This^ is about the only reason I can think of. AK-47's and anything based off then are evil and bad. So says the media.

MCB Feedback
SpecOps Feedback

Laws of Thermodynamics;
1) You cannot win, you can only break even.
2) You cannot break even.

Echo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 11:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Walking without rhythm

CCM Fan
Brass N Wood Fan
Palmers Fan
^ bang on.

There is a great book called "AK 47: the peoples gun" Which details the history of the gun.

In today's 'western' society, the AK 47 now represents the gun of the terrorist, the ganster, drug dealer or of the oppressive military. Its not very popular.

Fantastic weapon yes, but it has PR problems...

Add to that, the design is old. Brilliant but still old. And everyone wants the shiny new kit they see in MW3! 'New = better right??'

My business card says "Your in luck, I do two things..."