mcarterbrown.com  

The Dead Zone Paintball Related Chat

Old 09-30-2012, 08:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Trails Of Doom

Lightbulb Filming Paintball, Discussion on filming/editing/effects

As we all know playing paintball is super fun. But, ever since I started playing years ago, I always wanted to capture what I could SEE on film...

I started filming my games with one of the early action cams, (atc3K) which worked, but not very well. It had a good size, but it was only 640X480, the mic was HORRIBLE and if the person you were shooting at wasn't backlit (meaning light behind them) it was pretty hard to capture what you saw.

I kept working at it, learning how to mount my camera in different positions and learned that you NEVER put your camera on your mask on your "gun side" as you will just shoot tons of hopper. No one wants to see that.

But I had to totally change my playing style to try and capture good video. As you had to be CLOSE to capture your kills on film. And when I say close, I mean 30 feet.

So I decided the only way I could capture what I wanted to show was to film with a HD camera with great OPTICAL zoom.

So I started researching... After a few months I found on craigslist in my area a Sony HDR-SR1. Which was a top of the line "prosumer" video camera from years ago. This was the perfect platform for what I wanted as it had 10X optical zoom, and a built in image stabilization that was REALLY good. So I met the guy selling it and got it for $200 with an extra battery, AND a wide angle lens, bag and all the cables. (this camera was almost $2,000 new). The form factor is pretty small for such a high end camera, and the Zeiss lens is amazing.

Then I needed to figure out a way to mount it on my paintball gun. And I use an A-5 so it has quite a bit of "kick". And vibrations and HD based video camera's aren't a good mix...

So I needed a way to keep the camera from moving around from the vibration of the marker, as well as be able to SEE where I am shooting.