mcarterbrown.com  

The Dead Zone Paintball Related Chat

Old 04-04-2013, 11:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Man in Tights

Airow Gun - tips and your experience

Hey guys,

So, I'm new to both compound bows and the Airow Gun: any advice for playing with it? What.FPS with paintballs are you getting--what draw length and draw weight did you use?

Thanks!
cdrinkh20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 12:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Cannon fodder

Fan of EMR
It's been a while since I broke mine out, but I usually shoot between 220 and 250 with mine. It's always been a bit finicky with the fps and it look a bit to get mine working properly.

That said, it definitely is a fun set-up and you're going to get a lot of questions. The first thing I would suggest is replacing the 10 round feed tube with a hopper. You're already juggling manipulating the bolt and string and reloading just adds another thing to manage. I find that the triangular 50 round hoppers work quite well for this. Other than that, you just need to be careful on your cover. Since you need to draw, you need significantly more room in your cover. It's also a bit tricky using low bunkers - I try to stick to solid structures I can stand behind. I've also had my best luck in getting eliminations by getting as close as possible. You do have a bit of an advantage when it comes to the lower sound profile and you can get some great sneaky eliminations with it.

Other than that have fun and let us know how it goes!
Bullseye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 02:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Man in Tights

Sounds good, thanks im trying to figure out a draw weight that will be playable but that will be easy to practice regular archery with too! I pulled my girlfriend's dad's 55 lb compound but I want to be able.to.draw a little faster (though my technique is crap so im sure that will come regardless of weight). I have a brand.new.one so I should have less velocity issues.
Old 04-04-2013, 03:13 PM   #4 (permalink)