mcarterbrown.com
Palmer Pursuit
 

Ebay Oddities Found something funny, out of place, or you just need to share it? Post those here

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-11-2008, 08:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
MCB Member
 
spanky1205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 222
What am I missing?

$50 and counting for website information?

Ego Angel DM7 Ion CHEAP 70-80% OFF! OUTSTANDING DEAL! - eBay (item 260248797923 end time Jun-11-08 19:33:01 PDT)

I have seen these before but never for this much.
__________________
Anthony
spanky1205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 08:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
MCB Member
 
Mobey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 231
when they first came out I was seeing them go for over 100. I'm not sure if it is people who just don't read what they are getting or people who just don't realize that these pyramid things are a scam.
Mobey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 08:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Watchmen
 
Harbinger[TG]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 6,830
Send a message via MSN to Harbinger[TG]
Oh, to be naive and idiotic.
Harbinger[TG] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 10:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
GCGWCC
 
Frink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Calgary AB Canada
Posts: 1,631
It's not what you're missing, it's what you're not missing.

Common Sense.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mar View Post
Do you take trades? I have lots of camouflage, and tac-vests?
Frink is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 10:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Fine Brass Connoisseur
 
Party of A-5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: 3500'
Posts: 2,338
idiots, idiots, idiots.
__________________
Party of A-5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 02:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
MCB Member
 
HP_Lovecraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 2,974
Not allowed, and reported.

Ebay forbids these types of auctions. It violates 2 seperate rules-
1- Selling "links" to a website is not allowed
2- Pyramid schemes are not allowed (which is clearly the link)

Unfortunetly, there are so many pyramid schemes on Ebay like this. Ebay has a hard time shutting them down because they otherwise look like an actual auction for a product. They won't show up with the robots, so ebay relies on users to report them... And most of us just ignore them...

nick
__________________
www.montneel.com
My Myspace nonsense
"the evidence strongly suggests that neither Billy nor Adam (Smart Parts) could have invented the electronic paintgun" -Garr M. King, U.S. Judge
HP_Lovecraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 02:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
MCB Member
 
spanky1205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 222
I will remember that for next time Nick. Thanks!
__________________
Anthony
spanky1205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 04:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Active Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 275
What am I missing here. What I see is a scam hoping someone doesnt notice is a auction to a link or two. If its a ponsi scam where is the pyramid?



BTW, I asked this about two-three days ago and somehow that post has gone missing. If your the mod who axed my post tell me why. I am asking a ligit question here for my, and other forum readers, education.
__________________
Deputy sheriff/paramedic/paintballer...
and there are times I want to combine all three.
Nocens boys nocens boys, quis vos gonna operor ut they adveho vobis?
Capt. www.teamlockdown.com
Fridaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 07:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
MCB Member
 
spanky1205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fridaddy View Post
What am I missing here. What I see is a scam hoping someone doesnt notice is a auction to a link or two. If its a ponsi scam where is the pyramid?



BTW, I asked this about two-three days ago and somehow that post has gone missing. If your the mod who axed my post tell me why. I am asking a ligit question here for my, and other forum readers, education.
I am not a mod so I have no power to do anything to anyones posts but my own. Sorry to hear yours went missing.

Basically I was asking the same question. Why would anyone pay $50 for a couple of links to a website. I do not think it is exactly a perimid scam because I do not see the rest of the perimid. However I do think it is a scam to catch people new to ebay. I am just surprised anyone would continue to bid that high. Even if the first bidder put $100 in hoping to catch a cheap marker. I am surprised that many other people would drive the prices so high. I am both surprised and horrified that there are that many people who will bid without actually reading the auction.

Notice a post a few above this one that the auction was reported. In the future I plan to do the same.
__________________
Anthony
spanky1205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 12:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
All Hail King Skippy!!
 
Chappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Phillipsburg, NJ
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by spanky1205 View Post
I. I do not think it is exactly a perimid scam because I do not see the rest of the perimid. .
The website you are buying the link to is a pyramid scam, not a wholesaler. I don't remember how it works, I'm sure someone else remembers the details. Its come up here before in years past.
__________________
My Feedback: http://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/s...3932#post13932

"They wouldn't pay me more to bury you rich than to bury you poor."
Soundgarden
Chappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  mcarterbrown.com » Ebay » Ebay Oddities

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Censor is On
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0