mcarterbrown.com  

Old 03-25-2013, 11:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Barned

How to make an etek4 quieter?

So with the recent purchase of an etek 4 I've had lots of fun, but after comparing it to other markers I noticed even with the zick kit it kicks like a mule. I'd like to tune it, but I don't know how because I'm a dummy who's only ever taken out the bolt to oil it. Does anyone have any tips or tricks on how to make this cannon shoot quieter and maybe have a little less recoil? I know you can get a hush bolt but I'm also looking at other things. If it doesn't take up too much of your time, please explain it to me like I'm a 5 year old because I have little to no knowledge of internal adjustment terms, ect.
I see an agglet and I want to paint it black...
...or yellow, orange, green; whatever the field paint is that day.
Bloop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 12:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
The Panda with a Gun

CCM Fan
1.from stock lpr setting, lower the lpr by 2 turns in

2.chrono your marker; personally i would start with a higher dwell such as 13,

3.with the decreased lpr and increased dwell chrono your marker again and take note of your range of fps.

4. turn down your dwell by 1 until u notice your fps drops about 10 fps, then increase it back by .5 (personally i go back up 1 more but thats up to you)

above is a tuning method for the smoothest shot while trying to maintain efficiency. if anything u can send you bolt to pooty and add orings on the bolt to dampen the noise. I hear the techt bolt is good for noise reduction or atleast getting rid of the crack in the sound. and also use a barrel with a smaller bore size, the .693 is way to big now adays unless ur shooting bigger paint like valken

hope this helps..i do this to all my egos (same principle applies to the etek)
Old 03-26-2013, 01:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Barned

I'm using my empire sniper barrel to help match paint, so thats all covered. What exactly is dwell and how does it affect my marker?