mcarterbrown.com

mcarterbrown.com (http://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/)
-   General Chat (http://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/general-chat/)
-   -   Any truck Drivers here? (http://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/general-chat/160255-any-truck-drivers-here.html)

S7G 04-29-2011 05:58 AM

Any truck Drivers here?

Well after 30 yrs of wondering aimlessly around the world on airplanes I am thinking of calling it quits.
I still have the wander lust so I am thinking about driving a big rig>
I have had a class A since I retired in 03 and have only driven school bus with it.
From the forums on trucking I see a lot of good and bad things about it.
I am looking at Prime as a dual driver with the wife.
This for good or bad would allow me to see my lovely bride for more then 10 days at a time and maybe even make to EMR again.
I have always loved driving big equipment after growing up on a farm.
I have limited experience in a Big rig ,however you have not lived until you drove one on Okinawa and had to deal with the narrow *** roads and having to back it onto the ferry.
\
Anyone got any pointers etc?

Orpackrat 04-29-2011 09:31 AM

Sorry I can't give any good pointers but I love driving larger vehicles. Granted a School Bus is not a Big Rig but its the best job I have ever had (except for the bad hours and pay). I love driving.

Treadstone 04-29-2011 10:16 AM

I've been out of the cab going on 10 years now but still miss it on occasion. OTR work is a love hate deal, met a ton of guys oveqr the years who swear it's the best thing ever and an equal number who do nothing but complain over the whole deal. The money can be decent espeqcially running teams with the wife, just be careful of cycle times and what the pay package includes (back hauls, down time, tolls, permits, etc). One word of advice don't get caught up in the road king mentality, if it's not your rig it's not worth your money unless it make you more comfortable or makes you money.

S7G 04-29-2011 10:47 AM