mcarterbrown.com

General Chat MCB's Coffee House: Pull up a seat, and grab your favorite caffeinated beverage. Non-paintball related chat within.

Old 11-16-2012, 12:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Veteran

CCM Fan
Pistols

hey guys
so a friend of mine has a shotgun and its one of his hobbies besides paintball. I dont know anything about this subject but i may be interested in a pistol for starters and to see if i like it or not. Is there a best or is it like paintball where its all personal preference? I'm 6'1'' 200 lbs and want a nice Blow back pistol but i want a good gun (or the best one out there). Can you guys please help guide me on this? What is the price range like? and what should i look for? and stay away from? Certain makes? models? and whats the maintenance like? all the help is greatly appreciated.
Jello78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 01:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Post Whore

I'm no expert at all, but I really enjoyed firing pistols chambered in 9mm and .45. My all time favourite pistol to shoot thus far has been the 1911.

My advice would be to go to your local range (with your buddy would be even better) and rent some of the different handguns they offer. This can give you an idea of the calibre you are interested in as well as the general feel that you seek.

Having never owned any gun I can not comment any further than this.
Old 11-16-2012, 01:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Fortune and Glory

Send a message via AIM to Crimson Death

CCM Fan
Brass N Wood Fan
If you're from New Jersey its a PITA to get a pistol permit. So much red tape.
Crimson Death is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 01:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Predatory Bird Oculus

Brass N Wood Fan
Palmers Fan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jello78 View Post
What is the price range like?
$100 to $4,000. Or potentially more.

and what should i look for?
Guns that feel good in your hands. It's best to handle a lot of guns and decide what you like.

and stay away from?