mcarterbrown.com

mcarterbrown.com (http://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/)
-   General Chat (http://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/general-chat/)
-   -   Military Machinists (http://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/general-chat/222634-military-machinists.html)

Magoo 01-04-2013 01:58 PM

Military Machinists

Hello, folks.

I am a machinist by trade with 3 certifications (Machinist I, CNC I, CNC II) and 2 years work experience (plus classroom time). I also have an interest in military service, and would like to do something with my life while I am young. I have long been thinking about combining these two interests, and was wondering if anyone has any knowledge of the subject.

Basically, what would I have to do to be employed as a machinist in the Navy? I have no problem enlisting, but is there a way to ensure I get the gig as a machinist? Meet and exceed educational requirements, perhaps.

Ideally, I'd like to work on a ship, say a carrier, and travel around the world while machining. I know that is naively romantic, and serving in the military isn't about niceties, but it would be nice. That said, I would have no problem working in a shop.

I appreciate any insight.

pillage 01-04-2013 02:01 PM

Talk to a recruiter. That is the first step.

MR_Rick 01-04-2013 02:18 PM

PM'd you

Magoo 01-04-2013 02:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pillage (Post 2581802)
Talk to a recruiter. That is the first step.

See, I am hesitant to do so, as I've heard some horror stories about recruiters promising the world and the enlisted getting burned in the end. I wanted to get some input from anyone who may, fortune willing, have experience dealing with the like.

Deuce 01-04-2013 02:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Magoo (Post 2581833)
See, I am hesitant to do so, as I've heard some horror stories about recruiters promising the world and the enlisted getting burned in the end. I wanted to get some input from anyone who may, fortune willing, have experience dealing with the like.