mcarterbrown.com

General Chat MCB's Coffee House: Pull up a seat, and grab your favorite caffeinated beverage. Non-paintball related chat within.

Old 03-16-2013, 02:19 AM   #1 (permalink)

Looking for people with knowledge of 55 degree whitworth British Threads

I like to think i'm a pretty competent machinist and am pretty good with my machines. Anyway, i decided i wanna build my own take at a delisle carbine. For those of you who don't know, its a 45 acp integrally suppressed rifle built off of the british enfield action. Ive gotten most parts around, picked up a 45 barrel blank and reamer, now im to the part of contouring and threading the barrel. Heres where i cant find much info on what kinda tooling i need to cut the threads correctly, since im assuming its a really bad idea to try and use standard 60 degree. I was hoping some of the machinists on here may have some more knowledge of them than i. Ive found carbide threading inserts, but not completely sure which one i need, few different numbers and such. Thought about grinding a piece of hss, but dont have any real get way to get it precise. If anyone has the capability to grind a piece of hss to what i need, id gladly be willing to pay you for it. So thanks in advance, and ill leave a picture of what im going for for your viewing pleasure.

Derf87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 11:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
MCB Member

Send a message via AIM to BigOldSkool

Fan of EMR
CCM Fan
Brass N Wood Fan
Check with Brownells they might have a cutting tool for it.

They have been a good source for odd cutting tools lately....

RIP - Ed "BigDaddy" Roth and "Indian" Larry
Wild Geese - Coney Isand White Fish - ECA
BOS's Feedback!
What Serial Number Is Your Cocker? WTB
ECAP - "Making players dreams other players nightmares"
COUSINS PAINTBALL
BigOldSkool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 07:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Doesn't work for Avratech

cool project, make it so!