mcarterbrown.com  

General Chat MCB's Coffee House: Pull up a seat, and grab your favorite caffeinated beverage. Non-paintball related chat within.

Old 10-30-2013, 03:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Om Nom Nom

Unhappy I need career help

Hi folks,
lately I've been struggling finding my way in life and I don't want to be stuck with a job I hate my whole life.

So here's my background:
I'm a mechanical technician, I graduate "college" and during my studies I had 2 jobs in my field of study. The first one I got made me dislike this job so during my last year of "college" I was heading toward a new field of study: Biology.
Yes it was a drastic change, I didn't last long in there at university. Then again, I felt like I wasn't complete so I went to an engineering university. I had a hard time and no interest in classes so I dropped out. Building stuff and house related work was growing on me so I went to Carpentry school. I liked every classes and made some good friends over there. School was almost over, I was heading toward becoming a carpenter. A friend of mine offered me a job at a local brewing company as a mechanical technician. At first I declined the offer, but it was such an ideal job: steady 40h/week all year long, very well paid, 3 days a week & overtime as much as you want. So I changed my mind again and went for it but I didn't get the job.

Now, I feel lost because carpentry:
-isn't steady work, during winter there isn't much work and during summer it's crazy.
-dangerous and hard physically (I'm a skinny 6'-2" guy).
-major salary draw back and will take 4-6 years to achieve full salary.
-lots of employers try to screw you and not declare all your hours worked.

On the other hand with mechanic:
-I don't feel passionate about it, sometimes I think I've done this simply because I was relating it to paintball.
-I have this feeling I will get bored quickly doing this.