mcarterbrown.com  

MCB Reviews It MCB Reviews it! Have a review of a new gun, or old gun you just tried? New Mask or Gear? Let us know what you think.

Old 04-05-2013, 03:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
It's all good

CCM Fan
A pictorial review - FlexR installation and first impressions

I've been playing paintball off and on since 1992 and have tried/rented/borrowed/bought/sold a lot of gear throughout the years. Markers have consistently improved in terms of efficiency, size and weight, accuracy, clothing has went from army surplus BDUs to softgood designed for paintball players and goggles have increased in comfort, and vision angle, but one thing remains problematic, for me anyway, and that is a proper antifogging solution.

I've tried them all - single and dual pane lens, antifog solutions, pastes, moist towelettes, spit, shaving cream and the plethora of fan solutions out there.

I was happy with the JT Vortex and Vortex 2 and thought that noise was a compromise to deal with. I've tried the Dye Invision Turbine but wasn't a fan (sorry for the pun) of the loudness of the unit. I've seen the Haber Vision Eliminator and was put off by the reviews of very loud fan noise and high pricepoint.

So for the last few years, I've been enjoying fog-free goggles thanks to Ezcreation's Fanz kits. This again had a few compromises. The kit was versatile, as it was compatible with most goggle models and brands on the market, but the battery pack installed on the goggle strap was a negative point for me, as well as the relatively short battery life of the 9V battery.

Still, it worked as advertized and I loved it, as it was by far the quietest fan system I've ever owned.