mcarterbrown.com

New To The Sport Just started playing? Been playing for a while, but you have a question you should have asked years ago? Drop a line, we answer

Old 07-07-2010, 08:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Rec Poster

New, older player and feeling a little awkward.

Hey guys,

I'm 29 and I just started playing. I did play when I was younger but a bachelor party later and now I'm playing again.

I recently bought all my gear to start playing again but now when i go out on the field I feel a bit awkward. The problem is that I don't really go with any friends because none of my friends play and when I do go I am very much the minority. It seems like there are 3 types of players.

There is no question that this sport is completely dominated by kids in the age range of 13-18, typically in the 15-ish age range, so that's the first group. Then there's the people like my friends that are only out on the field during special events like bachelor parties or what-not. Finally, it seems like the only older players are fathers playing with their kids, I almost never see regular players in my age group.

Maybe I'm just getting too old for this sport. Even when I announced to my wife that I wanted to get back in she said "Does anyone your age even play that game?"...

Anyone else in a similar boat? Sorry, I'll get off the soap-box now.
MrEcted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 08:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Thick

Send a message via AIM to HurtCow

CCM Fan
AKA Fan
Palmers Fan
I'm 41 and have been playing about 8 years. I don't care about the other people on the field or what they think of me or if I'll 'fit in'. Most of the friends I play with are younger than me, with some exceptions. So just go have fun and shoot some kids.

If I hurt your feelings or otherwise offended you, click here.
HurtCow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 08:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Stock Class Aficionado

CCM Fan
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrEcted View Post