mcarterbrown.com  

New To The Sport Just started playing? Been playing for a while, but you have a question you should have asked years ago? Drop a line, we answer

Old 03-30-2012, 04:32 PM   #1 (permalink)

Newbie Gear Questions

Hi all,
I'm new to MCB and owning markers, but I've been playing on and off for a couple years now.
I'm working on putting together a pretty solid setup as inexpensively as possible. I got a used A5 from somebody around here a little while ago that I fixed up, so I'm set on a marker for the next long while.
My questions are:

1. I have a 47/3K steel tank that a friend gave me, but he said the regulator has unthreaded itself a bit at the top (above the gauge) and at the bottom where it connects to the tank. Is this something I can just retorque myself, or does it need professional help?

2. Is a proconnect worth the money? I've got a remote line now, but it doesn't have a slide check, so I'm going to get one or the other.

3. The A5 has a stock barrel. That needs to go, because accuracy is pretty terrible. If I'm looking for accuracy at decent range and don't particularly care about noise, should I look at a flatline, apex, or just a smooth barrel? If I go with an apex, do I also want a better barrel for it, or will that not make a difference?

4. My A5 came with a JCS folding stock. It seems really easy to work on, so I'd like to do something to it to make aiming with a mask easier. Suggestions?

Thanks!
Klokworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 04:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ridin' The ShortBus

CCM Fan
AKA Fan
Brass N Wood Fan
Kilt Fan
Palmers Fan
I have no idea about A5....so Welcome to MCB. I'd ditch the steely and go CF tank - should be able to pick up a used one here. Apex barrels are nice.

For Optics I would suggest a red dot site - easy to "see" your target although I've never used one yet - but from what people on here say, they are better than a scope...which is pretty useless on a paintball gun...but they look cool!