mcarterbrown.com

mcarterbrown.com (http://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/)
-   New To The Sport (http://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/new-sport/)
-   -   Quality Manufacturers? (http://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/new-sport/214346-quality-manufacturers.html)

Gigueand 09-24-2012 04:43 PM

Quality Manufacturers?

Hi all,

A little background first: I'm a veteran player returning to the sport after a hiatus (last played in 2005, started playing in 1997). I own a VM-68, Tippmann A5, Pro-Carbine and Phantom.

I've noticed that a lot of familiar manufacturers (WGP, SP, ADG) have gone the way of the dinosaur or have very limited exposure in this new age of electropneumatic wonder-guns. I've seen that a lot of new manufacturers have sprung up (Empire, GoG, Dangerous Power, Eclipse - not just E-cockers any more).

I'm looking at re-entering the sport with a new, middle of the road, whiz-bang, light-weight electro and want to know what companies to look at. In this up/down economy, I don't want to buy a gun and have the manufacturer fold a year down the line. I want a solidly produced gun with good fit and finish that isn't going to crap out after a single season. I want something durable and reliable that isn't a Tippmann.

I'd like to avoid specifics as far as gun models, but which manufacturers should be I be looking at and which should I be avoiding?

ApoC_101 09-24-2012 04:49 PM

Eclipse, Empire, Bob Long.

Spider! 09-24-2012 04:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ApoC_101 (Post 2484402)
Eclipse, Empire, Bob Long.

That's my vote.

While Empire often hits you as middle-of-the-road, their prices are appropriate.

tymcneer 09-24-2012 05:20 PM

The Dangerous Power G3/G4 seem to have quite a few problems, in my experience. I own a G3, and I am very happy with it, but others seem to have no end of issues.

Ty

Mr.Smith 09-24-2012 05:35 PM

Empire is fantastic with customer service, they'd get my vote for sure.

woouulf 09-24-2012 05:54 PM