mcarterbrown.com

mcarterbrown.com (http://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/)
-   New To The Sport (http://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/new-sport/)
-   -   Best way to get a used Nelson based open class pump (http://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/new-sport/229594-best-way-get-used-nelson-based-open-class-pump.html)

cpxballer9 03-24-2013 12:33 PM

Best way to get a used Nelson based open class pump

I have been playing semi for a few years and want to try out pump. I am looking to buy used but not any time soon maybe in the next few months. I am completely new to pump and only know a few things (like Nelson, sniper, open, and stock class.) So if you guys have any suggestions on we're to by and what to buy I would very much appreciate it.

sniper97 03-24-2013 01:42 PM

Nelson is pretty much a single tube, valve, hammer, bolt line up in the tube. Think phantom.

Sheridans have the valve & hammer in the lower tube and the bolt sits in the top tube. Think sniper.

For open class, I would go with a S6, a used one is $400-$450, more with upgrades/extras. Any cocker can be turned into pump.

Open class = hopper

Stock class = 10 rd tubes (usually a fixed feedtube)

Spider! 03-24-2013 02:13 PM

Open class with an auto trigger is the easiest step to pump, but it may make you wonder what the point is.

I find the pump stroke on nelsons quite heavy. A stock class nelson is too much work for me; with a back bottle and loader they are fun enough.

Murf425 03-24-2013 02:13 PM

If I'm understanding your title correctly, you're looking for an openclass Nelson? Your best bet is to go on Ebay and look at Phantoms. The used market for them has tanked lately, and you should be able to find an OC one for well under $150.

Axel 03-24-2013 02:50 PM

Comb the B/S/T section. It would help if you provided an idea of your budget. I myself love Phantoms; you really can't go wrong and if you can find one in decent shape for $150 like Murf said, I don't think you'll find a better value.