mcarterbrown.com  

New To The Sport Just started playing? Been playing for a while, but you have a question you should have asked years ago? Drop a line, we answer

Old 07-10-2009, 12:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Rec Poster

Gun Types

Hello All. Even though I've been playing paintball for a couple years, I'm one of those players who bought a cheap beginning gun and have used it ever since. I'm now looking to get something better but find myself not knowing anything about all the different types of guns, other then Tippmanns.
Soo, I'm wondering if anyone would be willing to create a thread or sticky that listed and explained the characteristics, functions and differences for the major gun types/classes.
Not brand names (AGD, Spyder, etc); but actual types of guns.

Maybe something like?

Electronic: Mechanical:
Angel Automag
Timmy Cocker
Shocker

Did I totally screw up that example?? That's why I'm asking for help, I have no idea what the differences are. I hear names and types but actually know what they are would be wonderful.

Thank you for the help. If there is already a thread like this will someone link it please.
Slave2no1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 12:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grand Poobah

CCM Fan
AKA Fan
At the very core of it all you've got a few major groups:

Pump action, must pump between each shot: Phantoms, CCM markers, PGP, etc...

Mechanical Semi auto, no batteries, marker usually has some sort of sear tripping system to fire a paintball: Most Automags, spyders, Tippmanns, cockers, etc...

Hybrid electro, a mechanical marker that is fired by an electrical solenoid to trip the sear. Basically most Egripped mechanical markers: Spyder MR3, Draguns, Egripped tippmann...