mcarterbrown.com

Plugged in Online Gaming, and Technology

Old 03-04-2011, 05:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
www.Axial-Photography.com

CCM Fan
AKA Fan
Light Kit

Looking for a 2 to 3 light kit, prefer in the 200ms - 400ms range. Would like at least the heads and stands and prefer air stands. Extras (Umbrella's, soft boxes, bag, etc) are always welcome.

Range is ~$400. I am greatly leaning towards the Calumet Genesis 200 kit.

So, let me know what you guys like and why. I like the Alien bees, but they're a little pricey for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gainman View Post
id let her do things to my backside
chopper duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 06:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Rec Poster

well this may sound extremely stupid to some folks here and may not be totally helpful

I have been doing photography event and studio for close to 13 years now and I peieced together my lighting setup from the cheapest off name brands I could find I have had no issues with it and get the same results as other photographers using the hi-dollar stuff.

If it helps I shoot 90% kodak tri-x 360iso and 10% digital

Hope this helps some,
Yonu
yonu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 12:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Traded guns for cameras

Brass N Wood Fan
Palmers Fan
What are you going to be shooting?

I got by for 2 years with cheap ebay flashes and modifiers. I moved to Alien Bee's once I started shooting people more and the 3-4 second recharge times were killing me.

That and some Enerloop batteries and you'll be golden.
Frink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 01:30 PM   #4 (permalink)

CCM Fan
AKA Fan
Mainly still life, but some people. From everything I've read, the Genesis kit is amazing for the price. I've read it has good, consistent power as well as color. I plan on starting with a decent two light kit and adding a third.

Not planning on shooting weddings or even large groups of people.