mcarterbrown.com  

Plugged in Online Gaming, and Technology

Old 05-19-2011, 05:12 PM   #1 (permalink)

Send a message via ICQ to aldumil Send a message via AIM to aldumil

Nutrition/Energy bar

Did some searching around and most of the stuff I found reads more like an advertisement than a review.

I need something to eat around 3-ish in the afternoon between work and school and sitting down and eating something isn't really an option (unless you count eating in the car). I have been just picking up an energy bar or something to fill the gap, but are they any good?

I'm sure some are good and some are bad as well, last couple days I have been munching on CLIF Builder's bars. They are tasty and the nutrition facts didn't throw any red flags to me, though I am far from an expert. Thoughts?
aldumil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 05:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Post Whore

I would go with a piece of fruit and milk or fruit and mixed nuts, fruit and peanuts, protein shake and fruit, you get the idea. Whey powder and fruit can be carried around all day and you could always buy milk.

My eating philosophy is don't eat anything that comes from the center of the supermarket, which most energy bars or whatever probably do. Alternatively, you could make some hummus and eat that. It's good when it sits out all day... I don't know about it sitting in a hot car though. But, what I listed here is what I take for snacks when I'm spending the day on campus.

Taste-wise, I like Nature Valley. Or Quaker Chewy bars but I don't know how natural either bar is. It also depends if you're trying to use the bar as a protein supplement or something like that because I think people do... but I'd take the protein from the nuts, peanuts, milk or whey over that.

Last edited by StealingYerMail; 05-19-2011 at 05:43 PM.
StealingYerMail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 06:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Only "PART" Canadian

Smoked almonds and rasins