mcarterbrown.com  

Old 10-19-2013, 03:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Rec Poster

Question Lowering the velocity of a JT ER2s

I just bought an ER2s at my local Wally World last night. This is my first pump and I'm pretty excited. I just started playing paintball this Spring, so I'm still very much a newbie.

I took it to my local field and it chrono'd at 230 FPS on the first shot, then droped down 5 FPS each consecutive shot. I'm fine with that, but my local field's limit is 220.

To get it field legal, would I have to trim one of the springs? And what spring needs to be adjusted?

I should be getting a handheld chronograph next month .
Skunk Shampoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 09:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Pop-Up Ninja

230!? Is it indoor? Is that the only nearby field.

Go ye therefore to all the nations, baptizing them in copious amounts of paint.

Proud member of Team On Target.
www.teamontargetpb.com
Murf425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 12:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Rec Poster

Yeah, I was surprised it was shooting so low. I heard others were getting closer to 300 with the previous model of the ER2. I don't know if it is just mine or what. I want to play around with it once I get my own chronograph.

I'm fine with the low FPS, but it is still 10 FPS too high for my local field. It is indoors and and close quarters. Very newbie friendly. I like it. Only field I've got though.
Old 10-21-2013, 11:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
MCB Member

Lowering the velocity of a JT ER2s

It's a Nelson based pump, so you need to cut the hammer spring (the one between the bolt and hammer). Take it slow, I'd start with no more then 1/2 a coil at a time. Don't cut the valve spring, it will increase your velocity. If possible see if you local hardware store has a spring that feels a bit lighter. A lighter spring will give better results then a cut spring that no longer keeps contact with both the hammer and bolt during shooting.
1shot is offline   Reply With Quote