mcarterbrown.com  

Old 03-12-2013, 10:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Pop-Up Ninja

WTF, Tippman!?

[rant]

A teammate broke his X7, and out of complete newbishness and inability to fix it, he asked me to take a look. I've never messed with one of these, but I figured "It's a Tippman. How hard can it be?"

Holy ****! I've never seen a more needlessly-complicated, asinine, and just all around bull****ty assembly design in my life. Pointless decorative mag well...barrel shroud, four pull pins and I don't know HOW many allen screws (not all the same size) just to open it up. Then you finally get all the screws out, pry the clamshells apart, and the internals just EXPLODE everywhere. I've literally got about a 6' splash zone of small parts in my living room floor right now.

To hell with this gun. At least 98's are easy to get apart/together. This POS is just complicated for complication's sake.

[/rant]

Go ye therefore to all the nations, baptizing them in copious amounts of paint.

Proud member of Team On Target.
www.teamontargetpb.com
Murf425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 11:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
boo
Banned

Its an automag in some Milsim plastic, did Tippmann really **** up the most elegant and simply designed valve in paintball? Doesn't surprise me.
boo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 11:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Pop-Up Ninja

X7...not Phenom. It's just an excessively-complicated 98. So, yeah, they did screw up a VERY simple design, just not the 'Mag.

I'm not saying the functioning parts are screwed, because I've never fired one. But there's absolutely no reason for any gun to ever be this damn hard to disassemble. It's completely stupid.

Go ye therefore to all the nations, baptizing them in copious amounts of paint.

Proud member of Team On Target.
www.teamontargetpb.com
Murf425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 11:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Aces and eights

Fan of EMR
Brass N Wood Fan