mcarterbrown.com  

Old 11-01-2013, 01:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
MCB Member

Low Pressure Chamber

I had put a low pressure chamber on my Spyder in the 90's with great results. It solved my shoot down problem. I bought this back in 2002 for my fist Autococker.
http://i1271.photobucket.com/albums/...psbeefd75b.jpg

I was surprised that it seamed to do nothing. I now know that my reg was not sweet spotted and was probably the larger issue. I had also made the switch from CO2 to air.

So to get to the point I recently started playing with the clockers again and I noticed this in the tool box. What is a good use for this? Can someone explain it to me I think I may have some misconceptions. My thoughts are that it puts a larger bank of air behind the valve for the gun to draw from. But is this always a good thing? I'm toying with putting it back on one of the guns.
1shot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 02:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
uncanny

AKA Fan
That appears to be an extended banjo bolt for a 2k+ autococker, not an lpc.

Pre2k autocockers, especially minis, had smaller valve chambers. This required higher operating pressures, and in cases with the pre2k mini, caused shootdown issues.

Adding an lpc increases available volume, in theory allowing one to use lower pressures and achieve greater consistency from shot to shot. Here are some examples of my pre2k autocockers with lpcs.

WGP increased the valve chamber size again starting with 2k+, so lpcs really aren't needed for 2k+ autocockers, imho. However, some owners still like the aesthetics of a "bulky" looking front block.

mcb feedback
Customcockers.com feedback
Mostly mechanical autocockers
paintballedbackin88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 02:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
MCB Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by paintballedbackin88 View Post
That appears to be an extended banjo bolt for a 2k+ autococker, not an lpc.