mcarterbrown.com  

What Is It? Even after cleaning off the dust.... Still don't know what you have? Let the knowledgeable old-timers help you out

Old 03-08-2011, 11:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Firegoat

68 Automag?

So I have no knowledge of Automags and after looking at some Automag websites I'm no closer to knowing what exactly I picked up. This looks a little different than the Automags I have seen listed for sale here. My questions: what exactly do I have and is it worth anything? When I strip it down are there any internals I should be inspecting that might make it more or less desirable? I was told it works perfectly but what kind of o-ring kit should I get if I want to give it a once over?

The guy I got this from said he spent over 800 on his setup in the 90's but didn't specify what that included. The gun is marked "68 AUTOMAG A.I.R. A-dvanced I-ntegrated R-egulator" on the front side and "CF35011" in two places on the rear. The rear knob and grips say "TASO". There is an expansion chamber with no markings. The barrel is rifled inside and says "ARMSON - MADE IN REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA" near the tip.

I haven't cleaned it up at all but it's in good condition - no scratches just some light surface scuffs.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg 68 Automag 006B.JPG (47.3 KB, 303 views)
File Type: jpg 68 Automag 007B.JPG (49.0 KB, 298 views)
File Type: jpg 68 Automag 008B.JPG (36.1 KB, 298 views)
File Type: jpg 68 Automag 009B.JPG (45.1 KB, 298 views)
File Type: jpg 68 Automag 010B.JPG (28.7 KB, 299 views)
Old 03-08-2011, 11:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Shop Smart,Shop S-Mart

that marker was built for CO2
doc Zox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 12:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
MCB Member

There's some nice stuff on it , taso x chamber,might be a cut benchmark trigger frame,dbl trigger,nice site rail and rail.The barrel was the one to have at one time. Over all a nice find.. The 68 classic o-ring kit will work...Value ..150.00 give or take.. MAGS LOVE OIL!!!