mcarterbrown.com  

Ask The Experts You ask the tough questions

Old 06-12-2014, 05:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
A Very Manly Muppet

Brass and Wood Fan
Making a pnuematic air cannon (For Confetti!!)

Hey MCB,

So I'm looking at making a multipurpose, multiuse Air Cannon for the upcoming University Orientation Week at York University. I've already been through all the channels, filled out all the paperwork and have the go-ahead from my bosses. My bases are covered as far as health and safety are concerned, so that's not an issue.

On to the matter at hand. I need to make some kind of CO2 or HPA powered cannon (similar to a havoc, but cheaper and dumbed down) that will fire confetti, glow sticks, sport smoke and other small objects a considerable distance, lets say about 40 ft. I'm no expert when it comes to the physics of air pressure and all that, so I was hoping some air smiths and tinkerers could offer their wisdom here, since MCB is full of them!

I was also wondering if there is anyway to do this with existing paintball parts, be it fittings, regs, ASA's hose, valves and most importantly, tanks. I've looked at few instructables, but they all suggest massive valves, big tanks and gauges and all that jazz. I do have a budget to keep, so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

My BST Feedback : https://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/...-feedback.html'
BillyTheKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 06:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Fish Sh**s

Brass and Wood Fan
Kilt Club
PPS Fan
Easiest way to do this would be to snag a 12 gram quick changer like the ones Rap4 sells, thread that into a 1"-to-3/4" reducer, use maybe 1' of 1" pipe for the air chamber, ball valve, small 1" threaded nipple to a PVC fitting to adapt it to your chosen barrel diameter.