mcarterbrown.com  

Ask The Experts You ask the tough questions

Old 06-25-2016, 08:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Riverside Renegades

Some gear suggestions? Spoolie & Pads

Back in 2012 I asked this question - https://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/a...ool-valve.html

I never ended up getting a spool valve, instead I played with an automag rt in recball and big games until 2014. It worked, great, I was happy.

Fast forward a number of years, and I haven't played since 2014 due to personal choices, and the fact that I've been travelling around the world for the past 14 months - https://www.facebook.com/2ontherun & 2 On The Run | Matt and Neeley's Adventures (end self promotion)

Due to the travel, I have no gear with me, but I'm going to be attending the 2016 MMG big game in a month, and was interested in looking for a spool valve to play with again. And verify some pads.

So two questions. One, what's a good spool valve gun to play with. Looking for $500 or less roughly. Was back to looking at macdev guns due to my playing with AKALMP gear previously. Looking for something that requires minimal maintenance and prefer something that isn't shaped in such a way that I need qtips to clean out gun hits (I had a unmilled viking). Used is fine, but wanted to keep it newer than 5 years old. So experts, what's the suggestion 4 years newer than when I asked before?

Second question, dye knee pads, and PE elbow-forearm pads? These were my favorites from before, still the best choices?

Thanks for any help, and possibly see you at MMG.
Old 06-25-2016, 10:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Post Whore

CCM Fan
Pad wise, I used to wear nothing but PE; that changed this year. I got all kitted out in Exalt's FreeFlex pafs and they are awesome, better than PE imo. You can get a nice MacDev Drone used for under $400, you might be able to pick up a Clone VX for around $500. If you can find a VX for that price I would pick that up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmartin View Post