mcarterbrown.com  

The Dead Zone Paintball Related Chat

Old 09-13-2018, 10:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Plays on the cheap

Phantoms...

OK! I'm curious why people regard Phantoms so highly. To start off, I've been playing since 2002 and been in/out of a couple teams, mainly scenario. I use a custom built sniper when I do play pump, but play mainly mech. I've been going to Splat-Tag in Hudson, WI for about 10yrs now (for those who don't know, they put all their fields together for "giant" big games, totals ~200 acres) to play big games. I'm starting to hit paintball a bit harder than in recent years as I just hopped on a scenario/woods team local to the field. I'm only 32, but I'm feeling it. Chronic low back & knee pains, not to mention a surgery on my right foot a few years ago... So I was tossing around ideas for lighter setups and I splurged on a brand new Etek 5 and I'm loving it for when I want to sling the paint. But I want to get lighter and I want to convert my sniper to a full cocker. Not to mention the sniper is a full-size AIM body with a Powerlye frame- not exactly light.

I've owned 2 Phantoms in the past- a VSC and a RF w/bottomline. Couldn't get the hang of the VSC (I just prefer constant air and a hopper up top) and I thought the RF was unremarkable. I guess I just don't understand why people hold them in such high regard. I don't think I'm being ignorant on this, as I've owned 2 of them in the past... Then again, I didn't get too deep into pump until I got my sniper.

So is it just me? I'm thinking of giving thems another go in an effort to lessen the effects of those all-day paintball games, but I'm just not sure. It's been a number of years since I had either of them, so maybe I'd adapt? Am I the issue? Honestly, I'm not sure. I realize paintguns are largely a preference, but I have other motivations to consider as well.