mcarterbrown.com  

New To The Sport Just started playing? Been playing for a while, but you have a question you should have asked years ago? Drop a line, we answer

Old 01-30-2008, 07:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Rec Poster

Send a message via Yahoo to mmblake

Hi, I'm back! ...sort of.

Hi, I guess with the way the sport has changed so much in the past fifteen years and the fact that I have been away from the sport that long, me thinks that makes me a newbie again.

I used to own wooden stocked rifle that was converted to hopper feed and big tank by a friend who worked at a field called Orion Paintball. I also owned a nelspot 007 that was really nice except that it always tried to rust on me. Both of those are long gone now. I think they were stolen or lost.

I just started playing again this past year. It all happened when I was shopping at Walmart and I heard my name. When I looked to see who was calling my name, I didn't recognize the guy, but he knew me. When I knew this guy, he was a scrawny pipsqueek of a kid (who got picked on a lot on the field) that started playing paintball with a bunch of us (and the funny stories we have in common). Of course, he isn't a pipsqueek anymore.

We got talking about the old days and I said I hadn't played in 15 years. We exchanged email and phone numbers. A couple weeks later, I get this email. I was invited to come out with him to go play some paintball at Clarion University. I was shocked to see how different the sport had become. I never saw so much paint flying at one time. The following week, I was invited back out to participate in a private booking with a wrestling team from Clarion, which I didn't hesitate to join. From there on, I had the paintball bug. I've played 8 times since then.

In all honesty, I have no clue what to buy when it comes to equipment. I'm not even sure with car loan repayments, mortgage, and bills what my budget is. But I do have some questions that maybe some of you can help me answer.