mcarterbrown.com

mcarterbrown.com (https://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/)
-   Canada (https://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/canada/)
-   -   Electric motor experts around? (https://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/canada/174249-electric-motor-experts-around.html)

PAINTBALL GUY 3 08-29-2011 09:14 AM

Electric motor experts around?
 
Good day all,

The the story is: I've got a South Bend lathe that I "attempted" to do a Motor swap from a 1/4 HP to a 1HP. Problem is, I dont got no idea how I'z gona hook it up.:confused: I dont have a clue when it comes to electricl stuff, so I should have known that I'd hit some problems. I've talked with a few people on the net and have gotten all the info I could ever want, but all of it's useless if I dont understand it. I need someone to actuly come to my place and help me out. I have a guy that owns his own shop like 5 min's from me, but he's swamped with work and doesnt see any free time in the near future where he could help out.


So, is there anyone in the Ottawa area or around Brockville that knows there Electric motors? I am willing to pay, but I dont have much. The motor is in the lathe, it just need the proper wiring set up. I am in Addison, BTW.

Also, here are some pictures of the South Bend..........

https://i367.photobucket.com/albums/o...3/P8220190.jpg

https://i367.photobucket.com/albums/o...3/P8120158.jpg

Thanks

Ti

sparky 08-29-2011 09:20 AM

Pictures of the motor?

Keys_JR 08-29-2011 10:19 AM

https://i367.photobucket.com/albums/o...f/P7170050.jpg

https://i367.photobucket.com/albums/o...f/P7170048.jpg

https://i367.photobucket.com/albums/o...f/P8130165.jpg

https://i367.photobucket.com/albums/o...P8130164-1.jpg

I tried already. Unfortunately it looks like it's a single phase motor, but the Phase rating of the sticker seems to be destroyed.

PAINTBALL GUY 3 08-29-2011 10:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Keys_JR (Post 1982771)
I tried already. Unfortunately it looks like it's a single phase motor, but the Phase rating of the sticker seems to be destroyed.


Thank ya very much Keys.

Keys_JR 08-29-2011 11:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PAINTBALL GUY 3 (Post 1982819)
Thank ya very much Keys.

Actually now that I think of it, do you see Phase or Ph anywhere one the motor?

Uticus 08-29-2011 04:24 PM

When you open the junction box on the motor how many leads are there in it?

PAINTBALL GUY 3 08-29-2011 08:36 PM

Keys, I cannot fine that anywhere on the body nor on whats left of the sticker.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Uticus (Post 1983370)
When you open the junction box on the motor how many leads are there in it?

If by leads you mean wires, 3.

dukie 08-30-2011 03:38 PM

Its a single phase.motor. wired for 230 or 115. count the leads in the motor and pick the correct row out of the.middle column of the sheet

Keys_JR 08-30-2011 03:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dukie (Post 1984682)
Its a single phase.motor. wired for 230 or 115. count the leads in the motor and pick the correct row out of the.middle column of the sheet

Thats what I thought, the picture he sent to me which I now can't find seemed to have 4 leads.

PAINTBALL GUY 3 08-30-2011 04:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Keys_JR (Post 1984701)
Thats what I thought, the picture he sent to me which I now can't find seemed to have 4 leads.

I will check again right now..........

PAINTBALL GUY 3 08-30-2011 04:26 PM

OK, there are actuly 2 wires comming directly from the motor, a white and black one. There is a third wire that is connected/wraped to a spot inside the " junction box", it is green. This wire goes on into the main bundle of wiring.

ApoC_101 09-01-2011 01:58 PM

yea thats single phase, the green is a safety ground/fault, the black is your power and the white is the neutral. so, it's 120V, not 208 or 240, from the sound of it. on 120V wiring, that motor you put up a photo of will draw 13 amps. wiring will correspond to the wiring diagram as dukie said.

PS, I am so glad to be running 3-phase in the shop now, so much easier to wire motors and so much more efficient... should look into a rotary 3-phase converter, you will get way more efficiency out of your power bill running that way, if you use your equipment lots. luckily I didn't need a converter as my unit is 200 amp 3-phase wired :thumbup:

Keys_JR 09-01-2011 02:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ApoC_101 (Post 1987322)
yea thats single phase, the green is a safety ground/fault, the black is your power and the white is the neutral. so, it's 120V, not 208 or 240, from the sound of it. on 120V wiring, that motor you put up a photo of will draw 13 amps. wiring will correspond to the wiring diagram as dukie said.

Houses are wired for 240 single phase your 240 outlet for driers and washers are all single phase. Standard houses are not wired for polyphase at all.

If you do run it on your 120V outlet ApoC is correct it will draw 13 amps, as such you will not be able to run much else on your standard 15 amp breaker.

After rechecking the photo of the wiring diagram the only one that might work is the second one in the middle column. The bottom wire that connects the two coils should be your ground, or the green one, and the other two I don't know for sure, but if you hook it up one way and it doesn't spin then reverse the other two leads.

PAINTBALL GUY 3 09-01-2011 10:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Keys_JR (Post 1987352)
After rechecking the photo of the wiring diagram the only one that might work is the second one in the middle column. The bottom wire that connects the two coils should be your ground, or the green one, and the other two I don't know for sure, but if you hook it up one way and it doesn't spin then reverse the other two leads.

THIS, is the info that I've benn waiting for!!!! I will see if I can find the time to try this out tomorrow. Will report back with what happens.....

Keys_JR 09-02-2011 12:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PAINTBALL GUY 3 (Post 1987992)
THIS, is the info that I've benn waiting for!!!! I will see if I can find the time to try this out tomorrow. Will report back with what happens.....

I don't know for sure so don't get your hopes up too high, but I think this is right.

sparky 09-03-2011 11:31 PM

I searched the motor online... You can still buy it new by the looks of it.

That motor is cutting it close on your CB, .... Nothing else should be on this circuit. This lathe alone drawing about 13 amps which is about the max you should run ever on a circuit (about 80% of the rated circuit breaker).

Did it work?

PAINTBALL GUY 3 09-04-2011 03:04 PM

Well, just got done playing with the motor I was able to get it running, but its still running in reverse.(as I was able to do when I first started the swap)

Sparky - Would be so kinda as to post up a link? Maybe I can contact the company and see what thay have to say about this.

Thanks.

Ti

dukie 09-04-2011 03:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PAINTBALL GUY 3 (Post 1990927)
Well, just got done playing with the motor I was able to get it running, but its still running in reverse.(as I was able to do when I first started the swap)

Sparky - Would be so kinda as to post up a link? Maybe I can contact the company and see what thay have to say about this.

Thanks.

Ti

flip the switch the other way.

PAINTBALL GUY 3 09-04-2011 05:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dukie (Post 1990945)
flip the switch the other way.

You dont think I tryed that?

dukie 09-04-2011 08:11 PM

Did it do nothing or run in the.same direction?

PAINTBALL GUY 3 09-04-2011 11:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dukie (Post 1991220)
Did it do nothing or run in the.same direction?

It did nothing.:(

dukie 09-06-2011 09:54 PM

you got the wrong motor on there. You need a reversible motor. They have more leads that connect to the start winding. Sounds like someone slapped "just another motor" on there and it just isn't going to work. The other wires from the switch don't go anywhere do they?

110v motors aren't normally user reversible. A motor shop might be able to pull the start winding connections out intot hte terminal box so that it can be done though.

PAINTBALL GUY 3 09-06-2011 10:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dukie (Post 1993885)
you got the wrong motor on there. You need a reversible motor. They have more leads that connect to the start winding. Sounds like someone slapped "just another motor" on there and it just isn't going to work. The other wires from the switch don't go anywhere do they?

110v motors aren't normally user reversible. A motor shop might be able to pull the start winding connections out intot hte terminal box so that it can be done though.


:bang::bang::bang:

And here I thought I didn't have it wired up right. *sigh*

Alas, I do have another 1HP motor. And I know this one is reversible because it says "to reverse motor" right on it. I just wanted this one to work because it's really a pain getting motors in and out of that lathe base.

Thank you for clearing that up Man. I'll post a picture of the other motor tomorrow and see if you guys can solve it's problem as well.:(

Thanks.

Ti

PAINTBALL GUY 3 09-23-2011 02:39 PM

Holy crap, Good lord, OMG! I think I might have it boys!!!! BUt I want you to look at the set up first. This is the data plate on the other motor I told you guys about..........

https://i367.photobucket.com/albums/o...3/P9220277.jpg

And this is the wire set up.......

https://i367.photobucket.com/albums/o...P9220280-1.jpg

The Red wire is T2
The Green wire is T5
The Yellow wire is T3
The other colors are just for reference

As you can seen, not all of the labels are on the wires. I want the know if you guys think that set up looks right? It is running strong, and in the right direction. But she seems to have slight buzz that seems alittle off. It might just be from age or how it's supposed to sound, I just want to make sure. Keep in mind I'm running off of 110. I'd post a video, but PB is REALLY SLOW right now for me.

Thanks.

Ti

Keys_JR 09-23-2011 04:06 PM

Big motors tend to hum due to the resonance of the coils.

PAINTBALL GUY 3 09-26-2011 08:29 PM

Well all is good then because she's all hooked up and running strong! :clapping: Now I need to get a hold of the proper oil and we can get some brass turned!

Thank you all very much for the help. I guess I just needed to let the data simmer up there first eh?:rolleyes:

Thanks.

Ti

sparky 09-26-2011 10:54 PM

Good to hear man. Make sure to tape up the connectors before your done, we use rubber splice tape and black electrical tape to finish up the splice......

Motors make noise. Little motor make little noise... Big motors make you deaf :D


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO
© MCB Network LLC