mcarterbrown.com  

Ask The Experts You ask the tough questions

Old 08-03-2007, 06:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Post Whore

Send a message via MSN to foldadoom

magic box mags???

Ok I am happy to say the automag is one marker I have never owned (ok before all the flaming starts I was there when the L4-5's came out and they put me right off) Anyway as a result I am a mag noob,a friend has a load of old mag's (all are L7) and some are magic box mags, ok can eveyone tell me about them are they better then a normal mag will they run on Co2 etc etc etc what sort of price could I expect to pay for a splash coat one whats, the differnece with the bodies (this one has a rail built along the top.

cheers in advance

Grant
foldadoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 09:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
terrible speller

Send a message via AIM to knightmare96

Co2 is fine, you will see some shoot down. The magic box does nothing, so forget about it. Mags are steel, so you cannot anodize them. Powder coating is your best option. Or you can find an old Smart Parts Splash kit, that just adds useless aluminum parts to the gun that are already splashed to give it that old-school feel. Which is fine if thats what you are going for.

For the record when the Automag was first released it did have several problems but the company fixed them through free updates called Level 6 through Level 7. There was no real Level 4-5, and even if you had a first release mag, it was free to get it updated.

Last edited by knightmare96; 08-03-2007 at 09:31 AM.
knightmare96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 10:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Red=Moderator

Quick run down on the Magic Box... Smart Parts Up grade for use with CO2... it was kind of a gimmick/cheater upgrade in that I believe it acted as sort of a by-pass around the reg into the valve so you could get shoot hot. Some one here can confirm or correct that, but I'm pretty sure that was the gist of that mod.

E