mcarterbrown.com  

CCI Home of the Phantom Pump Gun

Old 03-29-2012, 04:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Stock class SPAM

Phantom Stab users

I recently bought a Palmer's Cart Regulator 12 gram changer for one of my phantoms to see if it would give me a few more shots per 12ie. Anyway after a few 12 grams I figured out how to get my PSI to 800 again. My question is, what is a good PSI to stick with?

I know that normally that phantoms work at 800 or so PSI. I'm new to stabs and I am not sure if just making it 800 PSI again will do anything. Can I squeeze a few more shots at a lower PSI from a 12 gram? And if so will I need to crank up the TPC to do so?

Also I have noticed that this changer really hates Leland 12 grams. The first three I was using to get my PSI to 800, didn't even get pierced. I had to find some older crossman 12ies to use.
808Jackal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 06:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Post Whore

cant remember, but i believe ~650psi was the sweetspot for a regged 12g CO2 phantom.
-=ArchAngel=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 09:28 AM   #3 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by -=ArchAngel=- View Post
cant remember, but i believe ~650psi was the sweetspot for a regged 12g CO2 phantom.
Yeah, that's what I have heard as well.
I actually had mine down to about 490 PSI last time I played, at 270 fps, but that was with a red spring and the TPC in a bit.
So...650 PSI with stock silver spring sounds about right.

How do you like the CART reg? Besides the changer problems obviously. Is the threading different on it? Could you maybe throw an oring or some other shim in the bottom to allow it to actually pierce?
BassDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 03:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Stock class SPAM

Ok, I'll have to kill a few more 12 grams to get it around 650 then. Mahaloes for the quick responses. I have to change out springs too perhaps, maybe before I play Saturday.