mcarterbrown.com  

CCI Home of the Phantom Pump Gun

Old 06-19-2013, 10:31 PM   #1 (permalink)

Phantom Noob Thread

Hello, I am new to MCB and Phantoms so please forgive me for my lack of knowledge. I recently purchased a used Phantom, it seems to work just fine but i have a few questions. 1. Is pumping the marker with no air repeaditly bad for the marker? 2. Without the marker aired up their is a sound of something being able to move back and forth which I think is normal with nelsons but i am not sure. 3. When the bolt/pump is in the forward position if it has some force put into it, it seems to bond or have resistance which i think is the oring on the bolt but i am not sure.
Thanks for your help
WalkOnPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 10:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Made To

CCM Fan
I don't think it's bad to pump without air but I can't say its good.

As for the innards moving around its normal. When not aired up and cocked the bolt and hammer are in a neutral position with a spring loosely between them.

I'm not sure i understand #3

Boston Creepers
MCB Feedback

Last edited by tlane77; 06-19-2013 at 11:03 PM.
tlane77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 11:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Supernatural Anaesthetist

Send a message via AIM to Wycke

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkOnPro View Post
Hello, I am new to MCB and Phantoms so please forgive me for my lack of knowledge. I recently purchased a used Phantom, it seems to work just fine but i have a few questions.
Welcome to the club!

Quote:
1. Is pumping the marker with no air repeaditly bad for the marker?
As long as you don't overdo it (like pulling the pump handle back too far or in a jarring manner), no.

Quote:
2. Without the marker aired up their is a sound of something being able to move back and forth which I think is normal with nelsons but i am not sure.
You're mostly likely hearing the hammer moving about a bit, which is perfectly normal.

Quote: