mcarterbrown.com  

Custom Projects / Custom Questions How do I customize? What do I customize? What do I use? Share you experiences and faults here!

Old 02-27-2013, 11:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Old, but not slow.

Need a Machinists Opinion

I'd like to pay a machinist to build this. I've never worked on such a thing before and would like some feedback on the design. It's an insert for the valve chamber of a Trilogy sniper. The goals are to devolumize the valve chamber and allow for the use of stock autocker valve springs. Total valve chamber volume comes to 3.7in down from about 6in (this should be enough space at ~500psi?). Based on my measurements, the spring should be compressed by about 20% (.25in) when the gun is at rest.

The o-rings serve (at least I hope) to keep the insert from rotating as well as keeping gas out of the front block area.

The 10/32 socket is for installing and removing the insert. I was planning on using the cocking rod.

Yall see any obvious problems with the design? The only thing I'm a bit worried about is the outer diameter. I can't get my calipers into the valve chamber but a dowel, an o-ring, and an allen wrench, all 7/16, have been tried and its a VERY tight fit. I don't know what kind of tolerances should be used, so someone who has experience would be of great help tweaking the dimensions. I'm pretty confident with the other measurements, measure twice, cut once and all that.

I was also thinking about adding a lip on the end to act as a spring guide, just to keep it from walking (maybe 1/16" past the tip?).

Here's a picture of my baby. Don't make fun!

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by reepneep; 02-28-2013 at 12:10 AM. Reason: added a pictar
reepneep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 12:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lathe Fiend

Seems easy enough. Why do you need an o-ring groove wide enough for two o-rings?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigOldSkool View Post
CNC's are for nerds...
MCB Feedback