mcarterbrown.com  

General Chat MCB's Coffee House: Pull up a seat, and grab your favorite caffeinated beverage. Non-paintball related chat within.

Old 05-28-2012, 09:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Resurgence

Advice on making a Job/Career Change?

Needing some advice, or maybe some words of wisdom from your older guys who have "been there, done that." I'll give a little bit of back story, and hopefully you guys can give me some advice.

I'm 24, married, and recently a home owner. I work full time as a "Retail Banker" at one of the largest banks in the US. I make "ok" money. Right around 40k when it's all said and done. The problem is, I hate it.

It's the most stressful thing I've ever done. The sales quotas are astronomically and I'm expected to blatantly lie to and deceive customers daily in the name of "helping them achieve financial success". I've been with the company for a year, and had hopes of being able to apply into a job out of the retail part of the company, but I've had zero success. Before this, I sold used cars, and it wasn't nearly as stressful or sleazy.

How can I make a change? I've applied and had an interview or two, but nothing has came of them. I have a bachelor's degree so I'm not lacking education.

How can I find a real career? Do all of you go to a job you hate everyday? Or are there jobs out there were the first thing you say when you get up to go to work is not "F***"? Is it bad that I'd fill more fulfilled if I went and waited tables?
docholiday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 09:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned