mcarterbrown.com  

General Chat MCB's Coffee House: Pull up a seat, and grab your favorite caffeinated beverage. Non-paintball related chat within.

Old 11-14-2012, 01:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Doesn't care (/◕ヮ◕)/

CCM Fan
AKA Fan
Car audio help.

Looking for a bit of help with some car audio stuff.

I currently understand the basics but was looking for a bit of help with a few specific numbers.

I currently have a set of polk 5 1/4's in the front and looking to put a set of 6.5's in the back. Was looking to run a small amp to power the four speakers.

Question one is, is it really needed? And question two is, the amp that i'm looking at is 50watt at 4 ohms, the fronts that i have are 45watt 4 ohm and the rears will be 100 watt 4 ohm. Will going 5 watts over the rated constant power for the speakers ruin them, and will running at half the watts of the rear speakers not get the right amout of push from them?

Amp is a Rockford Fosgate R300-4 300 Watt RMS 4 Channel

I'm new to the whole car audio thing and was just getting past the basics.

And i guess while i'm here, for a sub what would be the most effective size/box combo for listening to mostly rock music, no heavy bass or hiphop or anything like that. I had planned on doing a unported box with one 12' but not sure if thats the best combo.

I don't always play pump, but when I do, I prefer a rotor.....stay agg my friends.
JLuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 01:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Fear the Beer!

It's not really needed. I just used my head unit to power those for my Mid/High's. I used an EQ with an Amp for my subs to control the bass levels and to have an on/off button for them. A sealed box will suffice for your Rock levels but I prefer a bandpass. Depends on how much room you have for a single/dual box.

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyorigin View Post
Comparing a SP product to a CCM is like comparing dog crap to Lemon Meriegn Pie.
forstgump is offline   Reply With Quote