mcarterbrown.com

New To The Sport Just started playing? Been playing for a while, but you have a question you should have asked years ago? Drop a line, we answer

Old 09-15-2012, 08:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
MCB Member

Please explain the pump universe

I have been playing paintball for a few months, and my first guns have been phantoms. Just by looking, I generally understand the logic of a "nelson" style pump gun because of my experience with phantoms. I love the phantoms, and I generally use them for open class play.
Can someone point me towards a general explanation of pump guns other than "nelson" style pumps?
I am completely confused by "autocockers" turned into pumps (that seems backwards).
I look at countless pictures on the BST threads, and I just appreciate the colors. How do you tell quality on the wide variety of autococker pump guns? Are these guns much harder to maintain than a phantom? Why would someone prefer these guns?
Why would someone say "CCM ruined pump play?"
jellyghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 08:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Man With No Plan

CCM Fan
PBN Fan
a pumped autococker "sniper" has less to mess with compared to a mech cocker
the pump eliminates the entire pneumatic setup and makes it all manual.

all you have to worry about on them is your reg input pressure, and your spring tension (your IVG) once they are dialed in, set it and forget it, give it a cleaning when you fill it with dirt, done.

quality is based off of the manufacturer/time frame

lower end manufacturers.....
psycobalistics (superbolt/lightnings)

higher end manufacturers/bodies
wgp Oracles
wgp karni's

and then you get the older/rarer gear
PE cockers
ripper bodies
etc

preference?
they are a much more stable open class pump
the body is much more rigid

they are not as gas efficient, thats why phantoms are stock class dream guns