mcarterbrown.com

mcarterbrown.com (http://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/)
-   New To The Sport (http://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/new-sport/)
-   -   Pump newb looking for winter gun tips. (http://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/new-sport/222046-pump-newb-looking-winter-gun-tips.html)

Karnokr 12-28-2012 01:24 AM

Pump newb looking for winter gun tips.

As the title says, I'm a pump newb. Got my first pump this summer, an Empire Sniper. This weekend will be the first time using it in the cold and snow. Are there any good tips or tricks I should be aware of? I will be using my Reloader 2 hopper to take it easy on the paint. What about barrel bore? I'm afraid if I go too small it will increase the odds of barrel breaks, but too big I get roll outs (which I can deal with for the day). The paint is Polar Ice. All suggestions will be appreciated.

Hawkeye20 12-28-2012 01:35 AM

Don't use Co2.

Chrono a second time during the day to make sure the cold isn't messing with your velocity in any way.

As for barrel bore worries, try to find the perfect fit. If you can put a paintball in the barrel, turn it vertical, and it doesn't roll out, but at the same time you can blow it out with your breath fairly easily, you have a good match.

Patar 12-28-2012 01:59 AM

oooooooh Polar Ice.......

I used the paint ONCE (it was free from a friend who had a deal with a friend from a paintball shop)...... Dunno if it was the rain or the dimples but my shots were flying all over the place...

ANYWAYS, unless you're using like a really small barrel you won't have breakage problems I think. .682 is usually my cutoff really, perfect to stop rollouts and have yet to get any barrel breaks from the bore size. Usually from double feeds/pumps. So yeah, keep your pump hand steady and consistent, keep your fingers warm, and as hawkeye said chrono a few times throughout the day to make sure the cold isn't messing with stuff.

thumper 12-28-2012 07:08 AM