mcarterbrown.com  

Old 08-03-2014, 05:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Still a Luddite

Etek 2 Troubleshooting...a few quick questions

Hey MCB, I've got a couple of questions, and am a total newb with electros. So here goes:

I recently got my hands on an Etek 2 and took it out to the field today and it was a total blender. With the gun on semi-auto and all factory settings enabled, basically somehow at least two or three balls were being fed into the breech every time and it was chopping like crazy.
There was a Planet Eclipse tech on site and he mentioned that it might be due to my hopper agitating too quickly and forcing the balls past the detent (the field paint I was using was smaller than .679 as I had a freak kit with .679 insert and still was getting rollouts).

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I can do to rectify this situation? Is there some way I can slow down my hopper if that's the issue, or is it something with the gun? I literally know nothing about these type of guns and bought it for my girlfriend to use.

The specs on the gun are a Virtue OLED board, a Cure 2 bolt, and a Zick rammer, if that makes a difference.
The hopper I was using was a Empire Reloader B with rip drive.

Any and all suggestions, comments, and help will be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Feedback

"Come on you apes. You want to live forever?" - Johnny Rico, Starship Troopers

"The man in black fled across the desert and the gunslinger followed." - Stephen King, The Gunslinger
packersrule729 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 06:23 PM   #2 (permalink)

Easy solution could be that your detents are worn out. Those two side plates of a different color on your gun come off with a screw. Remove them and you'll see the teeny black detents sitting in there above the eyes. Swap them out. They're like $2 for a pair.

Other solution could be switching on the eyes. Check the manual here for how to do that: https://paintballgunmanuals.com/manua...k-2-Manual.pdf